Lamya's Corner

"There was for Saba, aforetime, a sign in their homeland [Yemen] two gardens to the right and to the left . . . be grateful to Him[Allah] . . .But they turned away, and We sent against them the flood released from the Dams [Maarib dam]" (Qur'an. Saba:15-16)

2016 Ramadan Reflection 19 June 24, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — lamyaalmas @ 11:46 pm

sorry

Today we’re going to reflect on the second post-sin etiquette. So, after owning up to one’s mistake comes apologizing to Allah. Yes, apologizing to Allah (Subhanahu Wa Ta’alaa). The Prophet (Salah Allah Alayhe Wa Salam) said, “If a slave turns to Allah  in repentance by owning up to his mistake, and apologizes for it Allah forgives him.” If we hurt someone we love, we are willing to get down on our knees and apologize profusely. We will try to find the sweetest words and expressions. We will be insistent in apologizing over and over. We will find creative ways . We might write poems (ballads, lamentations etc.) inspired by the urge to apologize. The Prophet (Salah Allah Alayhe Wa Salam) amazes me in this respect, as do the other Prophets (peace and blessings of Allah be on them all). Their apologies to Allah (subhanahu Wa Ta’al) are noted in the Qur’an and should be learned from. Lets look at some. Take for instance the apology of Adam and Hawa’a (Alayhem Assalaam):

“Our Lord! We have wronged ourselves. If You forgive us not, and bestow not upon us Your mercy, we shall certainly be of the losers.”(Qur’an 7:23 ) .

Or the apology of Prophet Yunus in the belly of the whale:

 “… he cried through the depths of darkness (saying): “There is no God but You, Glorified be You! I have been of the wrongdoers” (Qur’a 21:87).

Prophet Musa (Alayhe Assalaam) in a moment of awe with Allah (Subhanahu Wa Ta’ala) asked to see Him and when he was denied that request he apologized:

“Glory be to You, I turn to You in repentance, and I am the first of the believers.” (Qur’an 7:143)

And Prophet Nuh (Alayhe Assalaam) asked Allah (Subhanahu Wa Ta’ala) to save his son:

“And Noah called to his Lord and said, “My Lord, indeed my son is of my family; and indeed, Your promise is true; and You are the most just of judges.” (Qur’an 11:45)

To which Allah (Subhanahu Wa Ta’ala) responded:

“O Noah, indeed he is not of your family; indeed, he is [one whose] work was other than righteous, so ask Me not for that about which you have no knowledge. Indeed, I advise you, lest you be among the ignorant.” (Qur’an 11:46)

To which  Prophet Nuh apologized and said,

“My Lord, I seek refuge in You from asking that of which I have no knowledge. And unless You forgive me and have mercy upon me, I will be among the losers.” (Qur’an 11:47)

The Qur’an is full of apologies by the best of people who trod this earth, Allah’s Prophets and Messengers and they are examples for us to follow. Let’s close with one of my favorite apologies from the Seerah of Prophet Muhammad (Salah Allah Alayhe Wa Salam) after a failed visit to Al Taif where he (Salah Allah Alayhe wa Salam) was pelted with stones. The Prophet (Salah Allah Alayhe Wa Salam) apologizes for his shortcoming in doing Da’wah to the people he was sent to, so he eloquently says:

To You, my Lord,
I complain of my weakness, lack of support and the humiliation I am made to receive.
Most Compassionate and Merciful!
You are the Lord of the weak, and you are my Lord.
To whom do You leave me?
To a distant person who receives me with hostility?
Or to an enemy You have given power over me?
As long as you are not displeased with me, I do not care what I face.
I would, however, be much happier with Your mercy.
I seek refuge in the light of Your face by which all darkness is dispelled in both this life and the life to come, and every affair of this world and the next is set right lest Your anger or Your displeasure descends upon me,
To You I submit, until I earn Your pleasure.
Everything is powerless without your support.

Our Prophet (Salah Allah Alayhe Wa Salam) has some of the best apologies to Allah (Subhanahu Wa Ta’ala) , even when he didn’t need to apologize. Let’s follow his example In Sha Allah.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “2016 Ramadan Reflection 19”

  1. Soraya Says:

    Masha Allah my dear sister! Wonderfully written! I miss you and your halaqas at masjid Alhuda.

  2. lamyaalmas Says:

    Jazaki Allah Khayr. I miss you and I miss giving Halaqa at Masjed Al Huda like old times.
    In Sha Allah all is well with you.

    Lamya


Leave a Reply

