Lamya's Corner

"There was for Saba, aforetime, a sign in their homeland [Yemen] two gardens to the right and to the left . . . be grateful to Him[Allah] . . .But they turned away, and We sent against them the flood released from the Dams [Maarib dam]" (Qur'an. Saba:15-16)

Most Beloved Deed to Allah [SWT] Day 3 August 5, 2011

Filed under: Ramadhan Corner — lamyaalmas @ 12:26 am

Today we will talk about an action that I hope will run in the veins of every Muslim. It is an action that is the spirit of the message of Muhammad (saw), and in turn the spirit that gives life to His (saw) Ummah. Some consider this action a practical one, but in reality it’s one of faith for Allah [SWT] says:

And hold fast, all of you together, to the Rope of Allâh (i.e. this Qur’ân), and be not divided among yourselves, and remember Allâh’s Favour on you, for you were enemies one to another but He joined your hearts together, so that, by His Grace, you became brethren (in Islâmic Faith), and you were on the brink of a pit of Fire, and He saved you from  it. Thus Allâh makes His Ayât (proofs, evidences, verses, lessons, signs, revelations, etc.,) clear to you, that you may be guided. [3:103]

 Furthermore, the Messenger of Allah (saw) said, The believers, in their love, mutual kindness, and close ties, are like one body; when any part complains, the whole body responds to it with wakefulness and fever.” [Muslim] So, any one of you who is ready to take on this action for today, it is evidence of the soundness of his faith. This is an action that is ingrained in us during every prayer, 17 times a day in “You alone do we worship, and from You alone do we seek aid.” [1:5] The action for today is team spirit; of working together, uniting efforts and collaboration. It is the spirit of the “Jama’a” –the Islamic body, Islamic community, and the Islamic Ummah at large. We could be praying alone and reading Al Fatiha in Salah, and no one would hear us if we were selfish as to ask Allah [SWT] “Guide me to the straight path”, but instead we stick religiously to the wording of Allah [SWT] “Guide us to the straight path” [1:6] We are reminded that we are part of a larger community; part of a great Ummah. It is common knowledge that anyone whom Allah [SWT] has blessed with this characteristic is loved among people, and know that love of people signifies love of Allah [SWT]. We have a natural attraction to people who love others and whose actions attest to this love, and we have a natural aversion to people who isolate themselves and are selfish in their dealings with others.   For the Prophet (saw) said, “None of you truly believes until he loves for his brother what he loves for himself.”

Let me tell you something about a definition of what a human being is, I can’t remember where exactly I read it but I remembered it while putting this together. It is said that a human being is a “civil being that is lacking in one thing or the other [he is not a complete entity]”. What does civil mean? It means that he cannot live on his own. And “lacking in one thing or the other” means that he is not a complete and independent entity, he depends on others for those facets that he lacks. So, if that is the case then team spirit is a quality that is absolutely necessary for the survival of a human being. So, everybody has each other’s back. He needs the support of others to continue his life. So, Allah [SWT] made this characteristic one that is most beloved to Him [SWT] so that those who love Him [SWT] would seek to adorn themselves with it.

Do you ever ask yourself this question: when I die will someone have my husband’s back or will there be a vacuum? Am I that kind of person who has people’s backs, so that when I need them they have mine? Notice, this is a crucial part of life that we talking about. Let me tell you why Allah [SWT] loves team spirit, Islamic brotherhood and Sisterhood in actions [not just words]. It is because if you love this action, and it runs through your veins, and is second skin to you then you have understood your role as a human being. Our success as human beings is dependent on how successful of “vicegerents’ [an administrative deputy of a king or magistrate] we are. Look at successful soccer teams, their success is not dependent on individual skills but rather how well they know each other’s skills, and take advantage of them as a play as a team in a given match. Your success as a human being is to help and be helped, it is the natural course.  I can’t disagree with a single concept in Bill Withers lyrics “Lean on Me” –it’s such an Islamic concept:

Lean on me, when you’re not strong
And I’ll be your friend
I’ll help you carry on
For it won’t be long
‘Til I’m gonna need
Somebody to lean on

Please swallow your pride
If I have things you need to borrow
For no one can fill those of your needs
That you don’t let show

If there is a load you have to bear
That you can’t carry
I’m right up the road
I’ll share your load
If you just call me

So just call on me brother, when you need a hand
We all need somebody to lean on
I just might have a problem that you’d understand
We all need somebody to lean on

Know that the worst human being to live among and with is one who takes and never gives back. Just like you love others to help you, you have to help others. What goes around comes around.

So, I hope by now we all agree that that we should don on this action that Allah [SWT] loves. But how do we go about doing it the way the Allah [SWT] wants us to. Allah [SWT] loves that the spirit of  the collective ‘we’ [the family, group, company, community, ummah] takes over you, rather than the ‘me, myself and I’ [my success and only my success]. Let me give you an example. Have you ever worked on the final project with a group at school. Some members in the group voluntarily offer their all for the sake of the whole group, and they don’t mind if it is presented as the effort of the whole group; whereas some members are stingy with their offerings to the team, and want a special mention. The latter loves to shine, loves to stand out from the crowd. In that he is aligning himself with the Iblis who was the first to suffer from the “Me, Myself and I” syndrome.

The Prophet (saw) taught the companions the spirit of the Ummah [Muslim Collective Body]. In the Qur’an Allah [SWT] says, “And verily this Ummah of yours is One Ummah and I am your Lord and Cherisher: therefore fear Me (and no other).” (23:52) To the degree that Allah [SWT] connected the health of your body with the giving of charity, of helping the needy. Look at the following hadith:

Abu Hurayra said, “The Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, ‘Sadaqa is owed by every limb people have. Every day on which the sun rises in which someone establishes justice between two people is sadaqa. To help a man with his animal and help him onto it is sadaqa [nowadays helping a person into his car if he needs to, or help push his car, or fix it for him so he can go to work]. Or to lift his goods onto it is sadaqa [brothers, we sisters needs some help carrying our grocery bags]. A good word is sadaqa. Every step you take to the prayer is sadaqa. Removing an obstacle from the road is sadaqa [you could say, but I did not throw it in the way? I can walk around it? No, it is your street as it is that of others, it is your country as it is that of others. So keep your city and country clean].” [Muslim]

So, do you see the spirit of team work—love for others what you would love for yourself. Allah [SWT] loves the ‘we’ and hates the ‘I’. A selfish person believes that he has not value unless everything is attributed to him. His success depends on it, so he is out seeking for himself and only himself. He forgets that it is Allah [SWT] who elevates a person, so the reliance should be on Allah [SWT] alone by doing that which loves and that is benefitting others and Allah [SWT] will make sure you benefit, leave that part to him. It’s a two way street. When you are a selfless person who favors other over yourself, you are actually favoring Allah [SWT] over what you want. This incident was reported by Abdullah Bin Al-Mubarak in ‘az-zuhd’:

On the day of the battle of Yarmuk, I went out to find my uncle on the battlefield, and I had with me a container of water. I said to myself he still had some life left in him, then I would quench his thirst with the water and wash the dirt from his face. Suddenly, I came across him, and he was going in and out of consciousness. I asked him ‘do you want me to give you some water?’ so he nodded his head. Suddenly he heard another wounded man in the distance calling out in pain. So my uncle motioned for me to go to tend to him. I went to him and saw that it was Hisham, the brother of Amr Ibn Al-‘As. I came to him and asked if he wanted me to give him some water, and suddenly we heard the sound of another man calling out in the distance in pain. So, Hisham motioned for me to go to tend to him. I came to him to find that he had already died. So I went back to tend to Hisham, only to find that he had died as well. Then I went back to tend to my uncle to find that he, too, had died.’

Another story, and these are real. They aren’t no fairy tales:

A Sahabi came to the Prophet and complained of hunger and distress. Just then, the Prophet had nothing in hand, or in his home to feed him. He asked the Sahabah:

“Would anybody entertain him as a guest tonight on my behalf?…”

One of the Ansaar said: “0, Prophet of Allah, I will do that.”

The Ansari took the person to his house and instructed his wife:

“Look here, this man is a guest of the Prophet. We will entertain him as best as we can, and won’t spare anything in doing so.”

The wife replied:

“By Allah! I have got no food in the house, except a very little?something just enough for the children.”

The Ansari said:

“You lull the children to sleep without feeding them, while I sit with the guest over the meager meal. When we start eating, put out the lamp pretending to set it right, so that the guest may not become aware of my not sharing the meal with him.”

The scheme worked out nicely, and the whole family, including the children, stayed hungry to enable the guest to eat to his fill. It was over this incident that Allah revealed the verse: “They prefer others above themselves, even though poverty become their lot.”

O Allah I want you to look at me and find me helping others, favoring others over myself because it is a one of the most beloved deeds to you.

 

4 Responses to “Most Beloved Deed to Allah [SWT] Day 3”

  1. Allahu Akbar Walaahowla Walaa kuwata Illahh bilAllah. I love this article. Very well written and nicely put… I am astonished walahi. I am so happy that Allah has cross our paths. MAy Allah reward you ameen. I love you ❤ May we emulate those companions. They are indeed our best role models after the prophet. Wow, I am in a awe right now. Happy that I read this Allahu Akbar!!!!!!

  2. Danyal Um Imran Says:

    Masahallah Jazaki Allah Khair ya 3omree May Allah unite this ummah and keep together alwayes so that He may Love us .

  3. Wa Ikyakum Hayatee Danyal. Insha Allah and Ameen to your dua.

  4. Jazaaki Allah Khayr Idil. I am happy that Allah [SWT] crossed our paths as well 😀


Leave a Reply

