Lamya's Corner

"There was for Saba, aforetime, a sign in their homeland [Yemen] two gardens to the right and to the left . . . be grateful to Him[Allah] . . .But they turned away, and We sent against them the flood released from the Dams [Maarib dam]" (Qur'an. Saba:15-16)

The Most Beloved Deeds to Allah [SWT] Per Day in Ramadan August 2, 2011

Filed under: Ramadhan Corner — lamyaalmas @ 6:43 pm

Inspired by “Uhebuka Rabee” [I love you O’Allah] presented this Ramadan by Mustapha Hosny

For many of us Ramadan has not yet become a life changing experience. It has not become a Muslim Spring. A revolution of an individual, for remember nations [including this ummah] rises with the rise of its individuals. Allah (SWT) says, “Truly, God does not change the condition of a people until they change what is in themselves.” (13:11) How can we be blessed with the change in our current condition? I don’t know about you, but I am not satisfied with my current condition as a Muslim. As long as I am alive being a Muslim is a struggle, a journey, an objective, a goal that I will probably die wondering if I have achieved. Plus I know I can’t do it alone, my own intelligence is not going to lead me to it but rather the guidance of the Qur’an and the Sunnah of the Prophet (saw) surely will. If I don’t attain it, it will be my fault, and not the fault of the sources. So, I am going to need Allah (SWT) to love me and if He loves me then He [SWT] will guide me as He has promised in a beautiful hadith Qudisi:

“Whosoever shows enmity to a walee (friend) of Mine, then I have declared war against him. And My servant does not draw near to Me with anything more beloved to Me than the religious duties I have obligated upon him. And My servant continues to draw near to me with Nawaafil (supererogatory) deeds until I Love him. When I Love him, I am his hearing with which he hears, and his sight with which he sees, and his hand with which he strikes, and his foot with which he walks. Were he to ask [something] of Me, I would surely give it to him; and were he to seek refuge with Me, I would surely grant him refuge.” [Bukhari]

Imagine when Allah [SWT] is your hearing and your sight! Imagine being in a state in which you can understand the depth and wisdoms of matters rather than just the superficial and apparent. When Allah guides your feet to places He [SWT] loves, and away from what He dislikes; when every step raises you in this world and the Hereafter. That your hand has the mythical Midas touch, but not in myth but for real because  Allah [SWT] guides your hands in all that you do, blesses all that you touch, and grants you skills that amaze humanity. But as I said, this love isn’t free? There’s a price. So, our goal this  Ramadan is to encourage Muslims to perform a most beloved deed to Allah [SWT] per day. Remember that during the month of Ramadan Allah (SWT) brags about us to the angels while we’re busy competing in good deeds for His pleasure alone. In earnest, we want to rise above the level of being merely slaves of Allah [SWT)] doing the bare minimum, to being the most beloved slaves of Allah [SWT]. As Muslims we ought to be ambitious, more so over divine/heavenly matters than the earthly/worldly. Settling for the bare minimum was never the objective of the Prophet (saw); he did not (saw) want to just make it to Jannah. “Please! What can be more than Jannah?” True, we’ll be happy to just make it there, but on knowing that there were levels we’ll most likely wish we’d worked a lot harder. The Prophet (saw) advised us on aiming for Jannah to aim for the highest level, Al Firdaws, he said (saw): “If you are going to ask for Jannah, then ask for the highest level in Jannah [Al Firdaws Al ‘Ala].” [Tirmidhi]

 Why this goal in particular this Ramadan? Well, because we want to remain steadfast on these deeds after Ramadan. Deeds are like people, they get lost in the crowd. So, if this Ramadan we focus on knowing why Allah loves certain deeds more than others, it will raise our awareness of them and their importance Insha Allah. I like a to-do-list, so I am doing it for myself and for you. So, let’s this Ramadan, worship Allah with what He [SWT] loves, and in the way that He [SWT] loves.

 

2 Responses to “The Most Beloved Deeds to Allah [SWT] Per Day in Ramadan”

  1. Abdul Wahid Says:

    Thank you so much for wonderful post

  2. You’re very welcome. Ramadan Mubarak Brother and May Allah accept your fasting, praying and good deeds Ameen.


Leave a Reply

