Lamya's Corner

"There was for Saba, aforetime, a sign in their homeland [Yemen] two gardens to the right and to the left . . . be grateful to Him[Allah] . . .But they turned away, and We sent against them the flood released from the Dams [Maarib dam]" (Qur'an. Saba:15-16)

Calling ALL who visited the Science Museum for Eid ul Fitr September 13, 2010

Filed under: Miscellaneous Announcements — lamyaalmas @ 4:55 pm

Those of you who visited the Science Museum for Eid Ul Fitr–can you please please please provide:

1) Anecdotal information about what worked well aT the Science Museum for you this Eid ul Fitr.

2) Also, why do you think it is important for them to continue to provide these events for our religious holidays?

3) And what would be relevant to the community (from your perspective) for the future?

We want to help the organizers who are passionate about this to plan, organize and advocate for future events. So, please please please do provide your feedback in the comment section to this post.

Jazakom Allah Khayr.

 

19 Responses to “Calling ALL who visited the Science Museum for Eid ul Fitr”

  1. Chandra Craft (Jameela) Says:

    Assalamu alaikum Lamya. My husband and I went to the Science Museum on Eiid. Alhamdulillah, it was very nice. We got to look at some very interesting things, and learn things that we didn’t know. Especially the exhibit about the human body. The movie was also good but not what I was expecting………. I hope they continue to do this in the future.

  2. Wa Alaikum Assalaam Jameela–
    Can you tell me a little bit of what you were expecting in the movie? Jazaaki Allah Khayr my dear.
    Lamya

  3. Huma Says:

    I don’t know if this counts, but I really wanted to go but found out about it few days prior. We are usually really busy on Eid and following weekend so maybe the museum could schedule it a week after Eid (on a weekend)?

  4. I agree Huma timing is a crucial factor in the success of such events. Jazaaki Allah Khayr.

  5. Zee Says:

    I enjoyed the SM more than I thought I would. It was nice to walk around and look at the educational exhibits. I enjoyed the omnitheater experience. The film Arabia had some great parts esp. the clips of Makka, the people bowing and prostrating in unison to Allah. SO POWERFUL πŸ™‚ I also liked how they showed us the street view of the Haram Al-Shareef….I never saw that before. There were a couple of things I didn’t agree with in the film but other than that, a great service for the Muslims. We really appreciate it and would like this service to continue in the future. Thanks πŸ™‚

  6. Jamila Says:

    Me and my dad saw Arabia and it was really good and well done! It’s great to have a movie that shows a positive representation of our Islam and Arabs, not only for us to enjoy, but also for others to learn more about Islamic/Arab history. I was also surprised to find out that there was an Eid al Fitr discount at the Science Museum! It’s a really good feeling to know that there are people in this community that care about issues that are important to us! I think it would be great if they had someone go around and post up flyers advertising for the event at local mosques and maybe the U of M and MCTC. I would even be willing to do that and I’m sure any Muslim with a car would as well! I’m sure there are many members of our community who haven’t even been to the Science Museum so it’s important to advertise in the places we frequent.

  7. aida Says:

    wa alakium asalaam sisters. the sm was lots of fun. having this event for moslem gives us other ways to enjoy eid with our families. i thought the atmosphere was calming. i did enjoy the movie the part about mecca and medina where amazing. i would like to thank the people who organized this event especially sister heather thank you please continue this service it is amazing i feel part of the greater community is also celebrating with us. it was overall a nice experience the staff of sm were very nice thank you. many of the moslem families I saw at the sm seemed so happy. I hope it continues and it expands for many years to come for many moslems who call mn home.

  8. ummsqueakster Says:

    Assalamu alaikum,

    My husband and I have taken advantage of the Science Museum’s special eid prices for a few years now, and we always are so grateful for the opportunity. It’s become part of our eid tradition. This year was especially awesome with the omnitheater showing Arabia. I do hope they keep it up!

  9. abdulla mamdani Says:

    Assalamualaikum,

    First of all, Jazakallah Khair for organizing the special discount tickets on Eid day. I went with my wife to see Arabia and was very much impressed with the directing of the movie. They did an excellent job. The last time i had gone to science museum was many many years ago. I told my wife that we should come here for every Eid. Good job.

  10. Noora Says:

    May the peace and blessings of Almighty God be with you. I very much enjoyed the science museum on the 2nd day of Eid. My kids loved it and me and my(husband)enjoyed pretending to be a kid again. I learned alot of things!People were so kind in this atmosphere and setting.I really felt for once like it was my holiday-wow what a feeling!I personally thanked several members of the staff. The documentary (Arabia) was a pretty documentary good except for only a couple points. For instance, the hijab issue(scarf). I, as an american, love having the freedom to wear islamic dress code.People need to realize we have the freedom to cover with modesty yet be unique in the manner we do it. However in Saudi Arabia, I can see how making people dress in a certain exact dress causes them to rebel and feel as if they have no freedom-as it is unislamic. I wish they would have shown other islamic countries and how they are as well. In the recent days I feel we are making progress in breaking the walls of prejudice and bigotry in all communities. And it heartens me that people from amongst the christian and jewish community are doing their best to stick up for human rights and the rights of their fellow brothers/sisters in humanity-muslims.I hope the science museum will continue to make this a wonderful experience for us every year. And I hope all will continue to express their apprieciation and graditude as well. thankyou again. (Noora) Julianne Scasny-Alsamman

  11. Andrea Umm Ismael Says:

    Asalaamu Alaikoum wa rahmatuh Allahi wa barakatuh!

    My mother (non-Muslim), myself, and my two and a half year old son went to the SM on Saturday. Alhamdulillah we had a wonderful time and were grateful for the Eid discount and invitation for Muslims (otherwise we probably would not have gone (because of cost) or even known about it, masha’Allah!

    I was especially excited about the Omnitheater showing “Arabia” because I have not seen an IMAX film in ages, and my mother and son have never seen a film on IMAX either. Alhamdulillah I’m so happy that their first experience was with this film Arabia!!

    I was worried that my son who is so young would not sit still for it, but he sat still the entire time and was in complete awe, masha’Allah. I was also so happy alhamdulilah because not only did I learn a few things myself, but my mother who is a non-Muslim also learned quite a few things about not only Arabia (Saudi Arabia and its cities) but about Islam, Mecca and the Hajj, etc.

    I think when it’s in the format of an IMAX film, she (my mother) is more receptive to learning whereas with me, sometimes she’s a bit closed off (to learning more about Islam, etc.), so this was an EXCELLENT way for her to learn more. Alhamdulilllah.

    I’m so glad they added in the movie the scientific discoveries by Muslims as well (such as algebra, photography, etc)- things that I had previously told my mom, but she was reluctant to believe me – but alhamdulillah they mentioned it in this film as well and now she knows.

    When everyone was praying together in Mecca around the Kabah and they showed the circular motion, it just gave me chills!!! SubhanAllah!! To be able to see that from above, and how they mentioned we are all “one human race” SubhanAllah – I’m so happy they talked about these things, especially with the # of non-Muslims in the theater!! I’m so glad they got to see this!!! I’m sure a lot of people (non-Muslims) had no clue about any of those things they were talking about in the film, and because of this wonderful opportunity (being at the SM) they were able to learn!! πŸ™‚

    I remember about 4 guys behind us (non-Muslims) in line for the IMAX, and they were behind us, and kind of cracking jokes, like “oh man, I can’t WAIT to see this movie called Arabia” and then they all started bursting out laughing, like making fun of it.
    Alhamdulillah, I’m pretty sure they had a different attitude when they came out of the movie and learned quite a few things as well!!

    I was surprised at the number of non-Muslims who were at the SM that day as well – I think it was a great benefit to them, seeing all of the Muslims walking around – that we are peaceful and respectful people, just like them and to not be afraid, etc., especially since it was 9/11 that day.

    One woman even complimented me on my henna on my hands. I loved having the “Eid” weekend there, I felt so comfortable and accepted, and it was WONDERFUL seeing so many Muslims!! πŸ™‚ I even met new sisters from the Twin Cities which was great alhamdulillah!

    This was our first year going to this (my first year I even knew about for Eid) and I wish my husband could have come also (he had to work), but I am just so grateful alhamdulillah that they had this special Eid program there and the Arabia movie. We also really enjoyed looking at the exhibits and my son was totally loving those dinosaur bones πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    It was a wonderful day alhamdulillah and we will have great memories for a long time to come insha’Allah! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I really feel it is so important to keep having these programs for Eid and for Muslims in order that we feel part of the community and that we feel accepted, and also on the other end – so that the non-Muslim community themselves can feel more comfortable around us as well and accepting insha’Allah.

    I would love if in the future, with the IMAX if they did a video on more of Islam (and not mostly the geography, etc.) so people can learn more.

    Although, I think having the “Arabia” title was probably the best because I’m sure if there was a movie called “Islam” there would not be as many people interested and it probably wouldn’t be seen… I think the way that they did it (titling it “Arabia” and then throwing a few things in it about Islam was the best route so that people could learn more about it, and not go in to it thinking “oh it’s just only about Islam”) was probably the best way to do it alhamdulillah.

    I think for the future, it would be great to have something similar like this for Eid Al-Adha and maybe people could learn more about how Muslims have in common the belief in Abraham as a Prophet and maybe have something where they can learn what Eid Al-Adha is and why we celebrate it, etc… or maybe with the exhibits (if possible) have things like “Islamic Art” or an exhibit on Islam (books, art, people, etc. etc.) where people could learn more…. kind of like the Dead Sea Scrolls exhibit, but instead about Islam and not have it cost extra. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    Insha’Allah in the future also, I hope they advertise more, like in the Star Tribune or other papers, etc. so that not only more Muslims, but also Non-Muslims can find out about it and go insha’Allah!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    But Masha’Allah I was REALLY pleased with this one and how it turned out, and we really enjoyed ourselves alhamdulillah! πŸ™‚ I’m so thankful alhamdulillah that we had the opportunity to go, and that my mom was visiting us this week from Iowa and she had the opportunity to go with us!!! Yayy! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Fi Amaan Allah! πŸ™‚

  12. Hadiyah Says:

    Assalaam Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuhu,
    The discounted price and free tickets was really helpful because it can be so expensive to go any other time, I would also suggest stating the cost of parking. I enjoyed the movie the part about Hajj and millions of Muslim praying in unison was so beautiful and powerful, just some minor points that I did not agree with and wished the producer of the movie would have clarified. I think it is important to continue this at the SM, because it is nice to have other places to celebrate with our families. I would suggest advertising more; there are many Muslim Student Associations at Colleges and many places to promote this activity. I think it would have been nice to maybe have information about Islam and an explanation of what exactly Eid uL Fitr is and why it is being celebrated …maybe via a special exhibit if possible  Overall, I hope it continues.

  13. mashood yunus Says:

    i attended the event with my whole family. due to movie and a weekend, the visit to SMM was very relevant for us. The smiles, welcoming attitude and 3 days long discount offered to community goes a long way.
    Muslims can connect to SMM in a big way since islam has such a strong connection to science which helped earlier muslims to excel. SMM, on the same grounds as planitarium in chicago can consider a presentation of achievements of muslim scientists as one of their rotating exhibitions!
    I truly appreciated what SMM has offered to make our already special weekend a very special one. thank you SMM

  14. Yousuf Mamsa Says:

    I just found about this event today from a friend. She told me that it was a must see but unfortunately I didn’t know about it. Will love to go when its open next time.

  15. Ahsan Ansari Says:

    Assalaam alaikum:

    It was a very good idea to celebrate eid with a different activity. The discount was an added attraction for people to visit the mesuem. Eventhough we had seen all the exhibits and the movie before, still we enjoyed all over again. My suggestion is to continue this every eid and inform the community way ahead for the to plan. The three day offer gave me to plan better with other activities of eid.
    Jazakallah khair

  16. Faiz Khan Says:

    1. We should continue it is a good program
    2. It is a benefit to attendees as well as brings new members to the Museum
    3. Muslim get together.
    4. Need to advertise ahead of time and all Islamic organizations should inform their members.
    5. May be people can go as groups
    6. If there is a group of say 25, 50 or more do they get a group rate?

  17. Zeinab Says:

    We enjoyed our visit to the museum, we had seen the movie in the Spring, so during this visit we took the opportunity to explore the backyard exhibit and the dinosaurs. My children loved it and it was relaxing for my husband and I. I think we would make this a part of our Eid-ul-Fitr tradition. As an educator, I encourage parents to expose their students to as many outside of school learning opportunities. It builds on what they learn in school as well as gives a point of reference for when they read or discuss a topic or have to write about a topic.

  18. Asif Says:

    The trip to SM was great, especially for the kids. we went in a group with couple of families and I am positive that the kids had a blast. SM is a great place for not just kids but for adults who brushed up on science theories. I was most astonished by the Egyptian mummy from 3500 years ago. The timing of the visit was excellent – it was a good Eid gift to kids. we must continue events and opportunities like this. Thanks to the people who made this happen.

  19. Sayyad Says:

    Assalam O Alaikum,I world like to say Thanks to the Management of sΓ©ance museum of MN for considering to mansion Discount for Id ul fitr,Thank for coming forward for American minority community, same time this is an invitation,
    Sayyad,


Leave a Reply

