Lamya's Corner

"There was for Saba, aforetime, a sign in their homeland [Yemen] two gardens to the right and to the left . . . be grateful to Him[Allah] . . .But they turned away, and We sent against them the flood released from the Dams [Maarib dam]" (Qur'an. Saba:15-16)

“Has there come to you the story of Moses?” (20:9) August 28, 2010

Filed under: Reflections on "attended" halaqat — lamyaalmas @ 11:09 pm

Storytelling reminds us of magical moments around grandparents. Or maybe  tender moments between a mother and child, with the child’s  eyelids drooping as its mothers voice lulls it to sleep. Key phrases such as, “Once upon a time there was . . . “ or  “Did I tell you the story of . . . .” unlocks hearts ANYWHERE no matter what your age, gender, or culture. There is no doubt that from an early age we are fond of those who tell us stories. Indeed for many of us, it is still the quickest way to unlock our hearts.

Similarly Allah (SWT) entertains his prophets (as) with the best of stories. In Surat Taha,  He (SWT) narrates the story of Moses (as) to Muhmmad (saw), saying, “Has there come to you the story of Moses?”(20:9) We along with our beloved Prophet (saw) are wide-eyed and eager to hear the story of Prophet Moses (as) through the best of story tellers,  straight from Allah (SWT). And these stories are nothing like what humans concoct. No.  Allah’s (SWT) stories are true and perfect, for Allah (SWT) in Surat Yusuf says:

“We narrate to you the fairest of narratives, through what We revealed to you–this Qur’an. And yet before it you were heedless.” (12:4)

I can’t remember how many times I’ve gazed at my baby pictures, and asked my parents to tell me the story of my baby-hood. The details of a part of my life that my memory fails to recall. I enjoyed the gentleness that overcame my mother’s face, and the smile that tugged at the corners of my fathers lips . A picture perfect moment, when mine and my parents eyes would remain locked in time. Now imagine Moses (as) hearing of his baby-hood from Allah (SWT) the Lord of the Worlds, in which Allah (SWT) expresses his love for Moses (as) from the very beginning:

“We had favored you once before; Remember when We revealed to your mother what was revealed; Throw him into a basket and fling him into the river, And let the river deliver him to the bank, Where an enemy of Mine and his will pick him up. I have cast upon you a love from Me, and you shall be brought up under My caring eye. That was when your sister went about saying: ‘Shall I point out to one who will take charge of him?’ We then returned you to your mother so that she may be of good cheer and not sorrow.” (20:36-43)

I look forward to meeting Allah (SWT) so that He (SWT) may relate to me the story of my temporary residence in my mother’s womb, when it was He (SWT) who took it upon Himself to sustain my existence at the most critical time of my life. What a glorious moment that will be?

 

Leave a Reply

